On November the fifth, 1996 56%of the voters approved Proposition 215! This law was put into practice the next day and it removes criminal penalties on the cultivation, use, and possession at the state-level by people who have received a signed recommendation from a qualified physician that affirms the fact that he/she suffers from some form of a debilitating illness or condition and that the “potential benefits of medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks.” Illnesses that qualify for a medicinal marijuana card in California include but are not limited to: Chron’s Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Glaucoma, HIV/Aids, Cancer, chronic pain, debilitating conditions, as an alternative to other more addictive and harmful medical treatments. Contact a physician from our list of doctors further down on this page for more information about other qualifying illnesses. There were no limits set in regard to the amount of medical marijuana a patient could possess or cultivate provided in this act, unfortunately due to some bad seeds the Ca. Legislature created guidelines in 2003. CALIFORNIA’S MEDICINAL MARIJUANA LAWS DO NOT HAVE RECIPROCITY PROVISIONS SO YOUR MEDICAL CARD IN ANY OTHER STATE WILL NOT PROTECT YOU UNDER CALIFORNIA’S MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS.
The new guidelines that were adopted in 2003 allow for current patients or their caregiver to possess a maximum of eight ounces of useable medical marijuana and grow up to 12 cannabis plants, only 6 of which may be mature at any given time. However, Senate Bill 420 (A.K.A. S.B. 420) grants the right for a patient to possess a greater amount of medicinal cannabis if greater amounts are recommended by your doctor. These guidelines also allow municipalities or counties to approve and enforce local ordinances that permit qualified patients to possess a larger amount of medical cannabis as compared to the state regulations. Caregivers are allowed in the State of California. The said caregiver is required to be at least 18 years old.
For more information on the Medicinal Marijuana Laws in California please contact:
2215-R Market Street #278
San Francisco, CA 94144
To Acquire Your Medical License in California:
You must first receive a recommendation for Medicinal Cannabis from your physician. In California this first step is also the last. Look below on this page for a list of doctors in your area. Just make sure you keep a valid copy of your Doctors Cannabis Recommendation on you at all times if using, possessing, transporting, or if cultivating have your prescription properly and plainly posted in site…MAKE SURE IT IS CLEARLY VISIBLE. Beyond this the State of California does have a voluntary registry program wherein you can receive a State I.D Card. If you would like to register first fill out Application(or Renewal if that is the case) Form CDPH 9042. Next you must submit said form to your local County Health Department along with A. Proof of residence, B. A current Sate-Issued I.D., C. Copy of physicians refferal, and D. Application fee, which will vary depending on your county but is about $66 plus administrative fees ($33 if on Medi-Cal). Contact your local Health Department and ask to be transferred to the County Medical Marijuana Program for prices or other inquires.