On Nov. 4th, 2008 Proposal 1 passed with 63% of the vote. Proposal 1 came into effect on Dec. 4, 2008 and it removes criminal penalties on the cultivation, use, and possession at the state-level by people who have received a signed recommendation from a qualified physician that affirms the fact that he/she suffers from some form of a debilitating illness or condition and that the “potential benefits of medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the health risks.” Illnesses that qualify for a medicinal marijuana card in Michigan include: Chron’s Disease, Multiple Sclerosis, Glaucoma, HIV/Aids, Cancer, chronic pain, debilitating conditions, as an alternative to other more addictive and harmful medical treatments. MICHIGAN’S MEDICINAL MARIJUANA LAWS DO HAVE RECIPROCITY PROVISIONS SO YOUR MEDICAL CARD IN ANY OTHER STATE WILL BE VALID BUT ONLY UNDER THE CONDITION THAT THE STATE YOU ARE REGISTERED IN ALSO HAS RECIPROCITY PROVISIONS SUCH AS MAINE. PLEASE CHECK YOUR STATE LAWS ON THIS SITE TO SEE IF YOUR STATE IN FACT HAS RECIPROCITY PROVISIONS OTHERWISE YOU WILL NOT BE PROTECTED UNDER MICHIGAN’S MEDICAL MARIJUANA LAWS.
Proposal one allows a current qualified patient in Michigan to possess up to 2 ½ ounces of medicinal cannabis as well as the right to grow a maximum of 12 marijuana plants for medicinal use as long as they are housed in an enclosed and locked space. Caregivers are allowed in the State of Michigan. The said caregiver is required to be at least 21 years old. Also the applying caregiver must have never been convicted of a felony for any illegal drug. A patient may only have one registered caregiver at any given time, the registered caregiver may be registered for up to 5 patients.
For more info on Michigans MMJ Laws:
Michigan Medical Marijuana Program A.K.A MMMP
Michigan Medical Marijuana Association
To Acquire Your Medical License in Michigan:
Michigan has a mandatory patient registry program. First you must contact the Michigan Department of Community Health and request an application at:
Michigan Department of Community Health
Medical Marijuana Registry
P.O. Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909
Next have a properly Licensed physician or M.D. fill out and sign the Physician Certification Form that will be included in the application packet. Then you need to mail the application and the signed physician certification to the Michigan Department of Community Health at the above address. You must include these items, a copy of your photo I.D., an attestation from the applying caregiver if it’s applicable, a copy of the applying caregiver’s photo I.D., as well as a money order or check for $100 or $25 if you are enrolled in Medicaid or if you receive SSI or SSD. Make checks out to:State of Michigan—MMMP. Your application wil be denied or approved within fifteen days of receipt.